Cante Alentejano – Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity

1959684_748760901825878_902386179099073528_nThis post is a bit different from my usual ones.

Most of you know, from my “about” page, that I’m from Portugal. What you don’t know is that I’m from a nice small town called Serpa, in the Alentejo Region (south of Portugal). I’ve always been a proud alentejana (person from Alentejo), but what happened on Thursday at UNESCO made me even prouder.

This week in Paris, UNESCO evaluated around 46 proposals that wanted to become part of the List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity. Portugal submitted one of those proposals (Serpa, my town, was the head of it). I can now proudly say that after this week, cante alentejano, the typical singing of my region is part of that list. I must say that I jumped, I cried, I danced with emotion when I heard the news (I followed the result live).

So what is cante alentejano?

And here is the video of the delegation that went to Paris (which included my brother and some friends 🙂 )

3 Comments

Filed under Europe, Others

3 responses to “Cante Alentejano – Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity

  1. finally the beauty of our music will go beyondthe plains the taverns the walls of our houses in alentejo… everywhere i been i end up having one or 2 too few and siging a moda …uk,italy, france, swizerland thailand so ive done my share…sempre serei alentejana alma e coração. castelooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo de beeejaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

  2. Pete Hulme

    Such beautiful harmonies and with such deep roots. I love to see it when folk traditions survive and become recognised in this way. Brilliant news.

Leave a comment